125 Monument Circle   ·   Indianapolis, IN  46204   ·   317.636.4577


Parish Announcements

Organ Recital Series

Posted by

Take a few minutes each week to let beautiful music wash over you, quiet your mind, and center your heart as we journey through Lent. Every Saturday in Lent at 12:15pm. 



February 20, 2016 Michael Boney, organist

February 27, 2016 JinHee Kim, organist

March 5, 2016 Peter Rogahn, organist

March 12, 2016 Dalong Ding, organist

March 19, 2016 Matthew Middleton, organist


Short Biographies


Michael Boney, D.Min.


Michael Boney is the Canon for Music at Christ Church Cathedral in Indianapolis. Previously, he served for 12 years as Canon Musician for St. Michael's Episcopal Cathedral in Boise, Idaho. There he conducted two choirs, accompanied four to five services on weekends and started a concert series. He holds a Doctor of Ministry in Art and Theology from Wesley Theological Seminary, and a Master of Music in Sacred Music and Organ Performance and Bachelor of Music in Organ Performance from East Carolina University.



Adagio by Denis Bédard  (b. 1950)

Aria by Andrew Carter (b. 1939)

Psalm-Prelude Op. 32, No. 1 by Herbert Howells (1892-1983)

“I called in my affliction and the Lord heard me and saved me from all my troubles”

Psalm 34. v. 6

Six Short Preludes and Postludes Op. 101, No. 1 by C. V. Stanford (1852-1924)

Toccata in b by Eugene Gigout (1844-1925)


JinHee Kim


Jinhee Kim is pursuing her doctoral degree in Organ at Indiana University, studying with Dr. Christopher Young. She has garnered accolades in international organ competitions, including as winner of the San Marino/Elizabeth Elftman Organ Competition in 2010, finalist in the Longwood Gardens International Organ Competition in 2013, and winner of the first American round of the Mikael Tariverdiev International Organ Competition in 2015. Jinhee is currently serving as a Music Director and Organist at First Presbyterian Church in Martinsville, IN.


Johannes Brahms (1833-1897): Prelude and Fugue in G Minor, WoO 10

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750): Choral Prelude on 'Schmücke dich, o liebe Seele', BWV 654

Charles Tournemire (1870-1939): Improvisation sur le 'Te Deum'

Louis Vierne (1870-1937): Cantilène from Organ Symphony No. 3, Op. 28


Peter Rogahn


Peter Rogahn enjoys a career as an organist, pianist, choral director, and teacher. Currently, he is pursuing a Doctor of Music degree in Organ Performance and Literature at Indiana University.

He also serves as Precentor at Bethlehem Lutheran Church in Indianapolis. Peter received a

Performer Diploma and a Master of Music degree from IU, and a Bachelor of Music degree from

Concordia College. His principal teachers include: Christopher Young, Peter Nygaard, and

Harold Rutz.



Phantasie für Orgel über den Choral: Ein’ feste Burg ist unser Gott, Op. 27 by Max Reger (1873-1916)


Symphonie No. 3, Op. 28 by Louis Vierne (1870-1937)

I. Allegro maestoso

III. Intermezzo

IV. Adagio

V. Final


Dalong Ding


Dalong Ding is a Master of Music student at Indiana University, studying with Janette Fishell. Originally from Shanghai, China, he earned a Bachelor’s degree from Shanghai Conservatory and a Master’s degree from Manhattan School of Music in Piano Performance. His major organ teachers have been Katherin Meloan and Mcneil Robinson.



J.S.Bach ,Toccata and Fugue in d minor "Dorian", BWV 538


J.S.Bach, Leipzig Chorales:


                                                Jesus Christus, unser Heiland, BWV 665


                                                O Lamm Gottes, unschuldig, BWV 656


Louis Vierne, Pieces de Fantaisie, Suite 1, Op 51, Andantino; Intermezzo


Felix Mendelssohn, Sonata in A Major Op. 65 No. 3, 1st movement :Con moto maestoso


Matthew Middleton

Matthew Middleton is Associate Director of Music at Christ Church Cathedral in Indianapolis and a doctoral student in organ at Indiana University, Bloomington. He has previously worked as the assistant organist at Trinity Episcopal Church in Indianapolis, organ scholar at Bristol Cathedral and St Mary Redcliffe Church in England, and as a music teacher in Egypt and Palestine. He holds degrees from Indiana University (MM), Boston University (MM, Music Ed.), the University of Texas at Austin (BM), and the AAGO diploma.



Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)

Sonata IV in B Flat Maj, Op. 65/4 (1845/46)

I. Allegro con brio

II. Andante religioso

III. Allegretto

IV. Allegro maestoso e vivace


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

O Mensch, bewein dein Sünde groß, BWV 622


Nicolaus Bruhns (1665-1697)

Praeludium in G


Max Reger (1873-1916)

From Monologe-Zwölf Stücke, Op. 63 (1902)

V. Introduction f-moll

VI. Passacaglia f-moll


© 2010 Christ Church Cathedral | All Rights Reserved.

Website Design & Content Management powered by Marketpath CMS